Cumberland County Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Accident LawyerRequest a Free Consultation
New Jersey law requires all drivers to obtain car insurance. However, these policies are designed to only pay for losses to property and the injuries suffered by the policyholders. There is no requirement in the State of New Jersey to buy car insurance that protects the holder from paying for personal injuries inflicted on others.
Because of this, many individuals involved in car accidents are unable to demand compensation for an injury from an at-fault driver’s insurance company. In other situations, the at-fault driver does have bodily injury coverage, but it is inadequate to cover the losses endured by the plaintiff.
A Cumberland County uninsured/underinsured motorist accident lawyer can help when you are injured in an accident and the at-fault driver has inadequate insurance. A skilled attorney can work to examine all potential sources of compensation to get the compensation you need to pay for your damage.
Insurance Requirements in Cumberland County
Like most states, New Jersey requires their drivers to obtain some form of car insurance. However, the standards for these policies are very low. At a minimum, a car insurance policy must provide $5,000 in property damage liability and $15,000 in personal injury protection.
It is vital to understand that these policies provide no protection for anyone else involved in an accident with the policyholder. When this happens, an injured individual must find another way to collect compensation.
Of course, it is possible to obtain an insurance policy that does provide protection when a driver is at-fault in an accident that causes an injury. When this is the case, the personal injury claim can demand compensation directly from the at-fault driver’s insurance company.
Collecting Damages when the At-Fault Driver is Underinsured
However, as discussed above, many New Jersey car insurance policies do not cover this sort of loss. When this is the case, the injured driver may make a claim on his or her own insurance policy.
Of course, this only applies if your insurance policy provides this sort of protection. This will be listed in the policy as uninsured/underinsured protection. This protection is designed specifically to provide compensation for personal injury if the policyholder is involved in an accident with a driver who has inadequate insurance to pay the claim. However, as noted above, not all New Jersey car insurance policies are required to provide this coverage. If you were injured in a car accident, you should be familiar with your policy before making this type of claim.
The last way to collect compensation is to take the case directly to court. Insurance payments are supposed to provide compensation for any losses and prevent the need to file a lawsuit. However, when that insurance does not exist or is inadequate to cover the losses, you can take the defendant to court. While this may be a risky proposition, it may be some plaintiffs’ only means to collect damages. A Cumberland County uninsured/underinsured motorist accident lawyer could help to determine your best chance of collecting the compensation you need following an accident.
Let a Cumberland County Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Accident Attorney Fight for You
New Jersey’s car insurance laws are a complex combination of minimum requirements and optional coverages. In some cases, a policy will not provide any protection for bodily injuries caused by an at-fault motorist. In others, the protection provided is inadequate to cover your losses. Whenever this is the case, you need to examine alternate routes to collect compensation.
No matter which route you choose, a Cumberland County uninsured/underinsured motorist accident lawyer is ready to help you. Call us today to learn how you can get the compensation you deserve.