Camden County Personal Injury LawyerRequest a Free Consultation
In New Jersey, a personal injury occurs when another person or entity’s negligent or reckless conduct causes a victim to suffer a compensable injury. Personal injury claims can take numerous forms since there are so many ways a person could become negligently injured.
Damages Available In A Camden County Personal Injury Claim
Personal injury damages are meant to restore the victim as much as possible to their condition prior to the other party’s negligence. You may be awarded damages covering medical bills, rehabilitation services, missed wages, psychological trauma and mental anguish, medication costs, long-term care, the loss of ability to pursue your career and hobbies, and other losses.
New Jersey also allows victims to seek punitive damages meant to punish the wrongdoer and, in the case of larger companies or organizations, to spur changes in policies to prevent further harm in the future. New Jersey caps punitive damages at $350,000 or five times the amount of the compensatory damages awarded, whichever amount is larger.
In some cases, death may result from an injury, and in this case, you need to speak to a wrongful death lawyer in Camden County as soon as possible.
Personal Injury Statute of Limitations In Camden County
One reason why it is necessary to begin working with an experienced Camden County lawyer as soon as you realize you have been injured is that the State imposes a strict time limit on personal injury claims. If you wait too long, your claim may be barred – even if you can prove the other party’s negligence and your injuries are severe.
In New Jersey, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims is typically two years from the date the injury occurred, or from when the injury was discovered. However, there are exceptions to the general two-year statute of limitations. It is a fact and time-sensitive determination, and that is why you should contact a Camden County accident lawyer to discuss your rights.
Comparative Negligence Laws In Camden County
New Jersey bars victims from recovering compensation if the responsible party can establish that the victim contributed more than 50 percent of the fault in causing his or her own injuries. This rule is referred to as modified comparative negligence.
Our attorneys have much experience refuting such claims of comparative negligence raised as a defense by the other party. However, we need to begin investigating your claim and preparing your case as soon as possible, in order to be prepared to refute any allegations that you were more than half as much at fault as the other party.
Common Types of Camden County Personal Injury Claims
Contact A Camden County Personal Injury Lawyer Today
No matter what kind of personal injury you have suffered, or the severity of your injury, one of our experienced Camden County personal injury lawyers can fight to hold the responsible party accountable for the harm you have incurred.