Gloucester County Slip and Fall LawyerRequest a Free Consultation
Accidents may occur for many reasons, including slipping and falling on a wet floor, a broken sidewalk, an uneven or icy surface. If you sustained injuries due to a slip and fall accident on a property outside of your home and you feel your injuries happened because of someone else’s negligence, you may be eligible to file a slip and fall accident injury claim to seek compensation for your injuries and expenses.
Businesses, property owners, and landlords are all required to maintain their properties in a reasonably safe condition. When they fail to do so, you may have legal recourse to recover your losses. A Gloucester County slip and fall lawyer may understand New Jersey’s complex legal system and the laws that govern personal injury claims and insurance issues. He or she could protect your rights to ensure you receive expedient and appropriate treatment and fair compensation. If your injuries are serious, consider talking to a personal injury lawyer in Gloucester County so your case does not get drawn out and overly complicated.
Recoverable Damages In A Gloucester County Slip And Fall Case
In a slip and fall accident, you may be able to be compensated for:
- Hospital expenses
- Rehabilitation expenses
- Long-term care
- Lost or reduced wages
- Emotional and physical pain and suffering
A Gloucester County slip and fall lawyer could be helpful in identifying what could be fought for in terms of compensation. If there was a death involved, seek out a wrongful death attorney in Gloucester County today.
Slip and Fall Laws In Gloucester County
New Jersey state law states that if a business, property owner, or landlord’s negligence was the cause of your injury, that the negligent business, property owner, or landlord could be held liable.
New Jersey has two statutes of limitations deadlines for these claims: filing deadlines and shared fault rules. Both deadlines could impact the plaintiff’s ability to obtain compensation for his or her injuries and losses. The deadline for filing a claim is generally two years after the date of the injury.
Liability in a New Jersey Personal Injury Case
New Jersey assigns a percentage of liability to each party in a personal injury case. If the liable party claims that the plaintiff was partially at fault for the accident and the law finds he or she 50 percent liable, any compensation awarded to the plaintiff may be significantly reduced. If the plaintiff is found to be more than 50 percent at fault, he or she will be unable to collect any compensation for the accident.
Contact a Gloucester County Slip and Fall Attorney
Slip and fall accidents could be considered as personal injury claims and as such, must follow the laws and rules set forth by the state. Since these types of claims could involve businesses or property owners, insurance companies may try to drag your case out for years with the hope that you will become exhausted and accept a lesser settlement.
A Gloucester County slip and fall lawyer could inform you of your rights, handle all aspects of the legal process to minimize your stress, and work diligently to prepare a strong case on your behalf. Our goal at Grungo Law is to obtain maximum compensation for your injuries, medical care, financial expenses, and other losses. Contact or call today to learn what we can do for you.