Side-Impact Car Accidents in Cape May CountyRequest a Free Consultation
When a driver fails to yield to another vehicle with the right-of-way, the result could be a side-impact accident, also known as a T-bone collision. The sides of cars often have less reinforcement than the front or rear, offering occupants limited protection from a side-impact collision.
If you were hurt in a side-impact car accident in Cape May County, the negligent parties could be held liable for your damages. However, insurance companies often do not provide fair compensation unless you fight for it, and they could take advantage of a claimant without legal representation.
Seek advice from a knowledgeable car crash attorney as soon as possible after your side-impact accident. Having a professional on your side could help ensure that insurers treat you fairly and provide adequate compensation for your losses. Call today for your free consultation at (856) 281-3446.
How Do Side-Impact Collisions Happen?
Side-impact crashes typically happen at intersections. A driver might make a left turn without yielding to oncoming traffic, and the oncoming vehicle collides with the turning car’s passenger door side. T-bone accidents also might occur when a car runs a stop sign or red light and hits a vehicle moving through the intersection.
In Cape May County, a roundabout could also be the site of a T-bone collision. If a vehicle enters a roundabout without a clear path, oncoming traffic might hit its driver’s side. A vehicle attempting to cross lanes of traffic to exit a roundabout might be hit on the passenger side. Furthermore, changing lanes without checking blind spots could cause someone to sideswipe another vehicle.
Regardless of the specific circumstances, side-impact collisions involve some degree of negligence. An experienced attorney in the Cape May County area could investigate the accident to identify all the parties whose conduct might have contributed to the T-bone car crash.
Obtaining Comprehensive Compensation in a No-Fault State
New Jersey is a no-fault state, meaning every driver must rely on their own insurance coverage for reimbursement of medical expenses and lost wages. According to New Jersey Statute §39:6A-4.3, drivers must buy Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance with a minimum coverage limit of $15,000 up to $250,000. In addition, if an individual suffers a severe or permanent injury such as a traumatic brain or spinal cord injury, their insurance providers must cover the expenses of stabilizing their condition up to §250,000, regardless of their policy limits.
However, if medical costs exceed policy limits, an individual might need to file a civil claim against a negligent party’s insurance to get reimbursement. A savvy Cape May County attorney could help an accident victim manage insurance claims and determine the best next steps. If insurance coverage is insufficient to cover an individual’s losses, suing for negligence might be an individual’s best option.
T-Bone Accidents Can Cause Severe Injury
Because side-impact crashes typically cause severe injuries, available insurance coverage is likely to be inadequate. Although PIP coverage providers must pay $250,000 toward a seriously injured person’s initial hospital costs, a few days in the intensive care unit could quickly exhaust this amount.
T-bone collisions often put stress on a vehicle occupant’s head, neck, shoulders, and back. Side-impact crash attorneys in Cape May County often represent individuals with the following injuries:
- Joint damage, especially to the wrist, elbow, and knee
- Neck hyperextension (whiplash)
- Fractures, especially of the femur and hip
- Facial injuries
Such significant injuries could require extensive medical intervention, and substantial recovery time, and might have a permanent impact on the accident victim’s quality of life. Filing a lawsuit for damages might be the only way for an injured person to secure adequate compensation in the aftermath of a T-cone collision borne of negligence.
Trust Your Side-Impact Car Accident Claim to a Cape May County Attorney
The rules that govern compensation after vehicle accidents in New Jersey are complicated, and a severely injured person might unintentionally settle for less than they deserve. Insurance companies tend to offer as little as possible to settle claims in order to protect their profits.
Do not sell yourself short. If you were injured in a side-impact car accident in Cape May County, reach out to a local injury lawyer for help. Let our team help ensure you get the compensation you deserve. Call today at (856) 281-3446.