Request a Free Consultation

New Jersey Pedestrian Accident Lawyer

Request a Free Consultation

Every seven minutes a pedestrian will be struck and injured by a motor vehicle.  Every two hours a pedestrian will be killed under similar circumstances.  The percentage of fatal traffic accidents involving a pedestrian has been steadily on the rise since 2003, and nearly two-thirds of such fatal pedestrian accidents will occur in an urban setting, at night. If you have experienced a death due to a pedestrian accident, please call our South Jersey wrongful death attorneys today.

These sobering statistics, provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), make it clear that pedestrians are at a decided disadvantage while traveling across or alongside a roadway and why hiring a New Jersey pedestrian accident lawyer is so vital if you have been involved in any kind of incident.
En Español.

New Jersey Laws Protect Pedestrians and Hold Drivers Accountable

Legislators in New Jersey have made pedestrian safety a priority.  According to the Division of Highway Traffic Safety, New Jersey has a higher rate of pedestrian accidents than the rest of the nation.  Children, senior citizens, and non-English speaking residents are those most at risk of being injured or killed in a New Jersey pedestrian accident, the state maintains.

In New Jersey, failure to stop for a pedestrian in a marked crosswalk can prove costly.  Motorists can receive two points on their license, a fine of $200 and up to 15 days of community service for violating state statute 39:4-6 according to New Jersey pedestrian accident lawyers at Grungo Law.

Moreover, pedestrians crossing a roadway within an unmarked crosswalk must be yielded to by motorists unless traffic is being regulated by police or a traffic light, or unless a pedestrian has another means of crossing the road, such as a tunnel or overhead path.

Pedestrians are not immune from the requirements of the law; however, failure to use a marked crosswalk at a signalized intersection carries a $54 fine. To that end, employ common sense while walking or jogging on or alongside a roadway.  Cross at corners, and preferably within a marked crosswalk, but when no crosswalk or corner is available exercise extreme caution before entering the street. Walk facing traffic, wear reflective clothing if you will be walking at night and avoid alcohol.  The NHTSA maintains that 37% of pedestrians killed will be legally intoxicated at the time of their pedestrian accident.

Steps to Take After a Pedestrian Accident

When a pedestrian is in a car accident, police and emergency medical personnel should immediately be alerted.  While awaiting their arrival, drivers and pedestrians can – if possible – exchange names, phone numbers, and insurance information.  Avoid engaging in any discussion of wrongdoing; however, because any admission of guilt can later be used against you.

A pedestrian accident can result in devastating injuries such as broken bones, brain trauma, and even death.  New Jersey, as a comparative negligence state, apportions personal injury damages based upon the level of fault of both parties.

If a negligent driver is found by a judge or jury to be primarily to blame for causing a pedestrian accident and the pedestrian is only deemed partly responsible, the driver can be ordered to pay the pedestrian’s medical bills, lost pay as well as compensation for pain and suffering.

Don’t forget to contact a car accident attorney in South Jersey to review your case!

Contact a New Jersey Pedestrian Accident Lawyer Today

More often than not, pedestrians in New Jersey enjoy the right of way.  If you or a loved one has been involved in a pedestrian accident, the South Jersey personal injury attorneys of Grungo Law can help.  We represent pedestrians who have been harmed by negligent drivers, and will aggressively pursue compensation on your behalf. Call today to learn more.