Request a Free Consultation

Process of a Car Accident Case in Camden County

Request a Free Consultation

The process of a car accident personal injury claim begins when an individual meets with and retains a skilled car accident attorney in Camden County. An experienced car accident attorney is essential to helping streamline and fully explain the process and what the injured party should expect. There are many complicated considerations to keep in mind, such as working with the insurance company that an attorney can assist with, while an injured individual can focus on their recovery.

Steps of a Case

An attorney would start the process of a car accident case in Camden County by first sending out letters of representation to the various parties involved, such as insurance companies, the other driver in a car accident, and whoever caused the accident. Once a claim is opened, then the process begins of making sure that a person’s medical care is being provided for and any lost wages are being accounted for and compensated for.

Once a person has plateaued in their medical care or has reached the point in their medical care where the full impact can be understood, car accident lawyers attempt to negotiate a settlement at a court with the insurance company or the other party involved in the accident, who is responsible for the accident. What the process would involve then is the collection of relevant medical records, as well as maintaining their appropriate reports from medical doctors. This would also include getting a full accounting of any lost wages, as well as a full accounting of any medical bills paid, copays, or deductibles in combining all of those elements of a person’s damage into a demand package for an insurance company or another side in an attempt to fairly resolve a case without resorting to a lawsuit.

Timeframe Bringing a Claim

The length of time someone has to bring a claim after a car accident in Camden County depends on the specific facts of the case. Generally speaking under the law in New Jersey, a person who is injured in a car accident has two years from the date of the accident to bring their claim and that is called the statute of limitations. That timeframe can be extended depending on the circumstances.

However, and this is important to understand for somebody who is in a car accident in New Jersey, in addition to the statute of limitations, there could be other timeframes or limits with respect to bringing their claim. For example, if the car accident involved a public entity, somebody working for the state, the county, or the town, there could be certain notice requirements that are required before someone could bring a claim.

Tort Claim

If somebody is in a car with a public employee, they would have to bring a tort claims notice within 90 days of the accident. Failure to bring a tort claims notice or put the public entity on notice with 90 days could bar a future claim. So that is why it is important after a car accident for somebody who is injured or who thinks they may have been injured or damaged in some way to contact a lawyer. They could evaluate the timeframe associated with bringing their claim to start the process of their car accident case in Camden County and any other types of restrictions and do a notice requirement under the laws that are required to be complied with to bring a claim.

Case Length

Every case is different, the length of a Camden County car accident case is really determined by the nature of the accident itself, what type of investigation is needed to understand who is responsible for the accident, and the extent of the injuries that somebody has sustained.

The reason why every case is different and it is hard to predict how a long a case will last is the unique nature of how the accident happened as well as the unique nature of the injuries that may be involved in each case. It is important to understand that if you have been injured in a car accident you need to understand the scope of your injuries, your prognosis, and how it will affect you in the future before you resolve a claim. That is why it is important that you retain a Camden County personal injury attorney after an accident and that you get the right medical care. Once the medical side has got to the point where your injury can be fully understood as to how it impacts your life, then you are able to bring either your case to a conclusion, a settlement, or a lawsuit.

It is very difficult to put any sort of specific timeframe on an individual claim except to understand that it will take time depending on the nature of the accident itself and the extent of the injuries and their impact on somebody’s life.